Onward and DOWNward? My Ranking Is . . . (Biblioblog Top 50: September 2009)

Posted on Updated on

The rankings are up.  I dipped from being at 19 (though they say 20, I am fairly certain I was at 19 last month) to 46.  A big drop!  As I commented there, this may be the first month I will truly express serious doubt at the Alexa ratings.  The last few days have been successful in matters of blog traffic; it confuses me then that my ranking went quickly from being in the 700,000′s to the 900,000′s.  Very odd.  But, in the end, I am not going to gripe.  This is all in fun.  I’m just registering my puzzlement.

Here’s to October!  Onward . . . . AND UPWARD!!

Keep reading!

Shalom!

4 thoughts on “Onward and DOWNward? My Ranking Is . . . (Biblioblog Top 50: September 2009)

    Biblioblog Top 50 said:
    September 30, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    Depending on how regular Alexa does updates, it may not have picked up the last few days. We while think over the long run, it is actually a fairly good system, the odd month tends to be contrary to expectations.

    We included Ferrell Jenkins as a late addition last month, and you went down one place as a result. That is why you went from 19 to 20.

      John Anderson responded:
      October 1, 2009 at 7:14 am

      I guess what I find puzzling is that there is now a note that I have never noticed before–and I first noticed it about 3 weeks ago–on the alexa site that says stats are updated every 5 minutes. I’m not convinced. My numbers are still the same as they were 3 days ago.

      I am also curious what you mean by “the odd month tends to be contrary to expectations.” Are you defining this as an “odd month”? I certainly am.

      Thanks for the comment.

    Jason said:
    October 1, 2009 at 7:56 am

    John: I think nearly every blog on my blogroll (with a few exceptions) took a tumble. Who knows…

    robgreid said:
    October 1, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    John,
    Consider articulating your methodology. See my blog for an illustration and the challenge. :)

Leave a Reply

