The REAL Cover of my New Book Jacob and the Divine Trickster Revealed!

Posted on Updated on

Here is the real (front) cover for my forthcoming book, Jacob and the Divine Trickster: A Theology of Deception and YHWH’s Fidelity to the Ancestral Promise in the Jacob Cycle (buy HERE). The back cover will be identical to the joke pink cover posted immediately below (see HERE), but I understand it will also include endorsements from Walter Brueggemann and Bill Bellinger (see HERE for those).

So what do you think? If you’re going to pick up a copy, drop a note in the comments!

EDIT: Here is the full cover (front and back), which I just received.

click to enlarge
12 thoughts on “The REAL Cover of my New Book Jacob and the Divine Trickster Revealed!

    Andy Kerr said:
    July 19, 2011 at 8:48 am

    Actually, the back cover copy will have to be somewhat abbreviated if we’re going to fit the reviews on there.

    Andy

    Jason said:
    July 19, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    If I see it at Half Price Books, I’ll pick up a copy! ;-)

      John Anderson responded:
      July 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      @Jason: While I know you’re kidding (as the winking smiley no doubt indicates!), if it’s at Half Price Books that only means someone has already bought it, of course read it and enjoyed it thoroughly, and sold it back only because they knew that no other book could be so wonderful in comparison. And so, painfully, they had to part with it. At least that’s the backstory I’m constructing!

    brianfulthorp said:
    July 19, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Congrats!

    Ed Gentry said:
    July 20, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Congratulations … so what was so bad about pink? It would certainly stand out! Fretheim’s Suffering book is orange after all.

      John Anderson responded:
      July 20, 2011 at 8:32 am

      Hi Ed,

      Re: the pink cover, in all honesty there is a certain difficulty I suspect would accompany having a pink book; how could one escape that? Readers wouldn’t get past the cover! And you know it would come up in reviews. While I have a pretty solid sense of humor and am glad to be the butt of a good joke, I also want my scholarly arguments to be taken seriously. I worry a pink cover would not accomplish that. But this is already becoming far too serious of an answer . . . .!

      Re: Fretheim’s book, you may want to check your eyes. I’ve always seen the book as red. In fact, I have two copies of it, and while one is noticably faded, the new one I have is clearly red. Did you leave your book outside, dude?!

        Ed Gentry said:
        July 20, 2011 at 9:34 am

        Mine is very clearly orange – perhaps redish orange – but more orange than red. Even in your image above it looks orangey.

        John Anderson responded:
        July 20, 2011 at 11:21 am

        Reddish orange I might be able to accept (strictly because the word order suggests it is more “reddish” than “orange”!).

    Andy Kerr said:
    July 20, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Dunno, John. The pink does stand out more. Maybe we can do orange, instead….

    diglot said:
    July 28, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I actually liked the pink cover, but I guess that color is perhaps more suitable. ;)

    Nice to see that it is actually at a somewhat affordable price for a scholarly monograph. Any plans of ever releasing it as an e-book for the Kindle?

      John Anderson responded:
      July 29, 2011 at 7:56 am

      I’m really happy with the price-point; it is not prohibitively expensive for a book of this quality (both in terms of Eisenbraun’s quality–hardcover, etc.–and quality of argument, of course!), and I hope that will only result in more buyers and readers.

      I’m not sure as to the processes associated with e-book releases. I do know that none of the Siphrut volumes are currently available on Kindle right now, so that may be an indication. All that to say, my friend, I hope you’ll break your rule and pick up a physical copy, read, and enjoy!

    [...] that one feels the need to treat it as if it were in any way of human origin. John Anderson’s dissertation is set to be published. Nick Norelli wants pastors to stay current on their scholarship. Rod of Alexandria provides the [...]

Leave a Reply

