Coming up, on hesed we ’emet . . .

Life is insanely busy right now.  I am assisting Dr. Bill Bellinger at Baylor during the month of June with finishing up two book projects: his Psalms commentary to be published by Smyth and Helwys (which I will be handing off to him on Monday) and the second, revised edition of his Psalms: Reading and Studying the Book of Praises, published by Hendrickson.  On top of that, I am working on finishing my dissertation prospectus; the plan is to submit that this Friday for initial review.  And, I am also preparing for teaching 60 Baylor freshmen a Scriptures intro course in the Fall, writing lectures, and completing various reading for that on top of dissertation reading.  But, never fear!  There is much to look forward to in the coming weeks on hesed we ’emet.  Here is a small taste . . .

Reviews
I have book reviews planned for the following:

Wayne O. McCready and Adele Reinhartz (eds). Common Judaism: Explorations in Second-Temple Judaism. Minneapolis: Fortress, 2008.

Robin routledge. Old Testament Theology: A Thematic Approach. Downers Grove: IVP, 2008.

Jill Middlemas. The Templeless Age: An Introduction to the History, Literature, and Theology of the ‘Exile.’ Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2007.

Norman K. Gottwald. The  Hebrew Bible: A Brief Socio-Literary Introduction. Minneapolis: Fortress, 2009.

Leo G. Perdue. Wisdom Literature: A Theological  History. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2007.

Marvin A. Sweeney. Reading the Hebrew Bible After the Shoah: Engaging Holocaust Theology. Minneapolis: Fortress, 2008.

And a new arrival in the mail (to borrow from my buddy Nick Norelli) . . .

 

 

 

 

 
<br>

 

Bibleworks 8
I will be receiving BW 8 this coming week.  In the weeks that follow, there will be a series of mini-reviews on the product, covering the basics to the more intricate capabilities BW allows.  I hope you will look forward to this series, find it helpful, and will engage it.

Dissertation Items
I am still wrestling with posting this information up.  But, there is the possibility I will post up a copy of my dissertation proposal.  There will be a great focus, likely, on dissertation related matters on this blog in the coming months.

How does that sound?

7 thoughts on “Coming up, on hesed we ’emet . . .

  1. Joseph Kelly says:

    I would also like to hear more about this Scriptures intro class. What is your pedagogical approach? Lecture, discussion, a mix? Are you going to do stuff online or use your blog in any way?

    I believe you will thoroughly enjoy BibleWorks 8. Since I was upgrading from the 6th edition, there were some powerful improvements. If you had the 7th edition, you may not see quite as many fireworks. Still, it was worth it to me for Waltke O’Conner and the Greek OT Pseudepigrapha.

  2. John Anderson says:

    Joseph:

    Would you believe I’m actually updating from Bibleworks 5 to 8? Yeah, it’s going to be a HUGE leap.

    In terms of the course, I am still working on the syllabus. Given that the course is 60 students (not an ideal class size; I’d prefer 15-30 but that isn’t practical with the number of students Baylor has, so no harm) it will largely be lecture. I do expect, and I state this explicitly, that the class will be engaged, ask questions, answer questions, etc. I also have planned a few writing assignments, because I’m convinced a) writing is a necessary tool for success not just in college but in life; b) many students do not know how to write well, and this will be an exercise to help orient them towards college level writing. I am still figuring out the nature of these assignments. My goal, ultimately, is manifold: 1) orient the students to the college experience . . . this is not Sunday school, nor is it high school; 2) to employ a variety of pedagogical approaches so as to appeal to the widest variety of different student learning types; 3) to make the course interesting . . . many of them [I’ve already seen the class roll, well, half of it] are non-religion majors who likely don’t wan to take this course. I want to make it interesting . . . I think i can do that. Between humor and what the Bible has to offer, it should be feasible to accomplish this at least for some. Of course, the others will likely call me a heretic!

  3. John Anderson says:

    Michael: Thanks. BTW, did you twitter that comment?! You still had about 100 characters left! (just kidding buddy).

    Joseph: I forgot to mention . . . no, I will likely not be incorporating my blog, though that is an interesting idea. And in terms of online items, the most sophisticated tech I have thus far is blackboard. I am still planning.

Leave a Reply

