So I had a dream about Jim West . . . .

I seldom remember my dreams.  That is probably a blessing in disguise.  I awoke this morning wondering why last night could not have been a night that repeated this pattern.

Yes, I had a dream about Jim West.  Why I was blessed with such a “privilege” I don’t know.  Here’s basically how it went.

My wife, son, and I were at a fair of some sort in a mall.  There were video screens and tv monitors set up all over, and people crowded around them, watching what, I don’t recall.  In the middle of a long walkway was a giant . . . . GIANT (I’m talking like 50 feet long and 10 feet high) inflated air mattress thing.  I was sitting on it with my family, and I turned around and looked over my right shoulder through a huge group of people, and caught what I thought was a familiar face.  This face looked away.  Then, it looked back at me quickly, and then away.  This person had a huge camera around their neck, a goofy look on their face, and was snapping pictures furiously.  This person . . . . was Jim West.  He looked like the epitome of a tourist.  And I remember thinking how rude I thought he was not to greet me when he obviously had seen my picture.  And that’s all I remember.  I probably woke up at this point from this nightmare.

If anyone wants to take a stab at the meaning of this dream, I am (terrified yet) curious.

(Shudder).

11 thoughts on “So I had a dream about Jim West . . . .

  1. Roy "Eli" Garton says:

    Bottom line, John, is that you’ve been blogging too much! 🙂

    I remember having a similar dream when I was obsessed with minesweeper. While I may not have been in a mall, and the gaming platform wasn’t an entity taking pictures of me and my family, I still had a lucid dream about that gray grid, with unknown numbers, bombs, and empty space omniously lurking behind each square. Success or defeat was to be decided by a single click of the mouse. Suddenly my wrists freeze, the mouse won’t work, and the square I want to click keeps moving on its own. The rules of the game had change, and I could feel its mockery! Finally, I manage to click on a square — the wrong square — and my death was signaled by my own face, morphed to look like the Walmart smiley face but with “x’s” for eyes and my tongue lolling out. Immediately, I awoke from my dream in a cold sweat, heart racing. It was the spring semester of ’97 when I had this dream wrought of obsession — one which I will never forget.

    My advice: take a break from “blogtown”! 🙂

  2. Jim says:

    obviously this divine visitation means that you’re meant to suffer many mental breakdowns until finally you’re in a padded cage and people are taking pictures of you…

  3. John Anderson says:

    So long as you’re one of the ones taking pictures, Jim, complete with giant camera and sitting aloft your inflatable jumpy castle. Then, and only then, will all be well.

    And, just in case you were wondering, I did not make a bit of this up. This story is 100% legit, hand to God. It kept popping into my mind today and I just had to post it.

  4. Michael says:

    I think this has something to do with the exchange you had with Jim about getting your photo with him (or rather Jim getting his photo with you). Certainly, the only way to resolve this will be to have a kodak moment in New Orleans. Yep, Jim (for John’s sake) ask John for a picture with him.

    It’s the only way forward as I see it

  5. Rob Kashow says:

    okay i’ll be the immature one all ye serious bibliobloggers:

    It means you want Jim West to photograph you in a pink hat.

  6. John Anderson says:

    I will say this . . . . if Jim has a pink hat on him, I will take a picture with it.

    Michael, how sad is it that I don’t even recall the correspondence you are referencing?

    Rob, your interpretation may be spot on.

    Dreams are weird.

  7. John Anderson says:

    I’m just glad Jim has called me totally depraved for this.

    I do hope he got at least a little chuckle out of it. If you could see it in my head (I am terrible at describing dreams) it would be even funnier yet.

Leave a Reply

