Back from vacation . . . . some snippets

My wife, son, and I are back in Texas, safe and sound, after our week long vacation home to South Dakota.  It was a wonderful time, especially since our son adapted so well, actually wanting to play with “poppa” and “manna” (that’s grandpa and grandma, for those who don’t have kids and couldn’t figure it out!).

My week home was a busy yet fulfilling one.  Here are a few of the highlights.

Saturday: Arrived home.  My son was excited to find several hermit crab shells at my parents’ pet store with Dora the Explorer painted on them.  He also found a Diego terrarium to put them in.  Even though my parents own the place, he only got the shells.  We went to their house, watched my son play piano for a while, and then watched Scooby Doo.

Sunday: Went to church (see THIS POST) and to visit my grandpa.  This was an especially meaningful time with him and my son because we almost lost my grandpa to an aneurysm about a year ago.  As an 84 year old man, he survived it.  Tough, tough man.  My dad was also excited to watch Puff the Magic Dragon with my son; he watched it with me when I was little.  Surprisingly, my son loves it.  He loves to ask to watch “Puhh.”  I also mowed my dad’s lawn.  I despise mowing.  He loves it.  But I could not resist trying out his new, huge, zero-turn riding lawn mower.  It was fun!  I think I mowed the entire front and back yard in about 10 minutes!  Ok, a bit of an exaggeration, but let’s just say I drive quite fast on it.  And I almost knocked out my parents’ lamp post.

Monday: Became adicted to the show Operation Repo on truTV, which I watched with my parents.  Check it out . . . . great show.  Also went out to my wife’s parents’ house for about an hour and did a giant slip and slide down a hill.  Needless to say, I have scratches all over me and I cut my feet up.  Oh well, all in the name of fun.

Wednesday: Went to the largest city in the state, Sioux Falls, for some shopping.  I sold all my CD’s to FYE and used the credit to buy some wrestling DVDs.  Great exchange!  Also met with my old professor and friend from undergrad and wandered my undergrad campus for a while.  Always networking.

Friday: Had a joint birthday party with my son and his cousin; my son is turning 2 in a month, his cousin turned 3 this past week.  My son got a lot of Scooby stuff (books, magets, puzzle, pj’s), and he still has more on the way when it actually is his birthday in August.  I mowed my dad’s yard again (that riding lawnmower is too fun).  We also went to the cemetery to visit my grandma.  She passed away Dec 12, 2008, which resulted in an unexpected trip home.  She had been diagnosed (and beat!!) breast cancer about 10 years ago, but was then diagnosed with Alzheimer’s and continued to deteriorate.  It was good to be able to visit her.

Saturday: It was rodeo week in town, and in the morning was the rodeo parade.  My son loved running after candy (he got a huge bag—too bad he can’t eat half of it!  Guess I’ll have to help him).  He also really enjoyed seeing the ‘horsies’ and ‘firetrucks.’  And, in an earlier post, I had mentioned that my high school mascot was an ear of corn.  Now, for your viewing pleasure, here is a picture of said mascot (I don’t think this is the official costume but a cheaper version of it), standing in front of a vehicle that says “Mitchell,” the name of my hometown.  I thought you all might get a kick out of it.  And did I mention his name?  It’s Cornelius.  No joke.

IMG_0332

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We left Saturday evening about 6:30 and drove about 4 hours into Nebraska and spent the night.  Got up about 5 AM yesterday, left by 6 AM, and drove ten hours from Nebraska to Waco.  Our soundtrack for the trip?  Episodes of Scooby Doo, Dora the Explorer, and of course “Puhh” the Magic Dragon, which my son watched on the portable DVD player. 

Now that I’m back, I will return to regular posting.  I’ll likely be posting up some dissertation items soon.

3 thoughts on “Back from vacation . . . . some snippets

  1. Roy "Eli" Garton says:

    Glad to hear you made it back safely, John, and that you and the fam had a great time. There’s nothing like a good vacation!

Leave a Reply

