In the Mail: Upcoming Reviews

I’ve got some catching up to do on reviews.  Several new volumes have arrived on my doorstep:

Walter Brueggemann. An Unsettling God: The Heart of the Hebrew Bible. Minneapolis: Fortress, 2009.

Mark Sheridan (ed). Genesis 12-50. Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture: Old Testament II. Downers Grove: IVP, 2002.

Hugh C. White. Narration and Discourse in the Book of Genesis. New York: Cambridge, 2008 (original: 1991).

Bill T. Arnold. Genesis. The New Cambridge Bible Commentary. New York: Cambridge: 2009.

R.W.L. Moberly. Old Testament Theology: The Theology of the Book of Genesis. New York: Cambridge, 2009.

I hope to post a few reviews of other books in the next week or two so I can get on to these beauties! 

Any suggestions on which you would like to see first?

14 thoughts on “In the Mail: Upcoming Reviews

  1. Jason says:

    I recently received the Brueggemann volume, but won’t get to it for a little while. I’d be interested in your take on it given your studies in Genesis. I requested the volume by Moberly, but haven’t received it yet.

  2. John Anderson says:

    Jason: The Moberly volume is a bit different than I expected, which isn’t a bad thing. It is a new series; I think only Brueggemann has another volume out in it, on Jeremiah. But I look forward to reviewing it. Moberly is top-notch in my book.

    The Brueggemann book is basically a revision of part of his massive OT theology, focusing on unsolicited testimony (which Brueggemann told me he feels was under-appreciated and the object of less focus in reviews). Nonetheless, I am very much enjoying it.

    Joseph: Why do you hate me? ha!

  3. Joseph Kelly says:

    Yes John, that was the “logic” of my response. And no, I don’t hate you. I just thought you needed a good challenge.

  4. Jason says:

    John: On the topic of books, I am reading Walton’s The Lost World of Genesis One and was wondering if you’ve read it, and if so, what you’re thoughts were on it. I am in the midst of a bit of an overhaul of my understanding of Genesis 1’s creation account, begun several years ago in a discussion of Sailhamer’s view.

  5. Rob Kashow says:

    My vote (and I really hope you go in this order because this is my order of interest and probably the order I would read them in):

    1) Bruggeman

    2) White

    3) Morberly

    I don’t care about the others… I dont’ really think the ACC series is all that its cracked up to be, and Bill Arnold… eh.

  6. John Anderson says:

    Jason: I have not read it. My view on Genesis 1 (the imago Dei specifically) is still very much shaped by J. Richard Middleton’s The Liberating Image. It is a very careful and well-articulated volume. And while I don’t agree with everything in it, it greatly expanded my understanding of Gen 1.

    Rob: Endearing yourself to the publishers, aren’t you? The ACC is an interesting series, and for what it tries to do (bring to light the ‘ancient sources’ on the biblical text), it does a good job of pointing the less adept on these matters (i.e., me) to some bibliography. And Arnold. Hey, it’s the NCBC commentary on Genesis. I’ll weigh in after I’ve read it.

    • Rob Kashow says:

      I suppose the ACC is good for the laymen John [you can’t fool me, you are not ‘less adept’ 🙂 ]. But the quotes they give are a bit sparse and really unhelpful for any one other than a layman. The best bet is to just go through all 40 some books of the Fathers in ANF and NPNF and go through the indexes.

      • John Anderson says:

        Rob:

        Simply a joke. You more or less slammed IVP’s ACC. And an “eh” to Bill Arnold. Just razzing you . . . .

        Maybe ‘less adept’ is the wrong turn of phrase. How about “too lazy to go read all 40-some books in ANF and NPNF?” Yeah, that’s probably more accurate.

  7. ben says:

    I’ll throw in my vote for the Moberly volume. I just received my copy of this volume, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. I find Moberly’s stuff fantastic but I’d love to hear your thoughts John. (Though I have to admit I’m biased, Moberly will be my advisor this fall).

Leave a Reply

