Big Announcement: Interview with Richard Hays (forthcoming)

Friends,

I am pleased to announce that one of my former teachers at Duke, Richard Hays–one of the most well-respected NT scholars of the present day–has agreed to do an interview with me.  I am thankful to Dr. Hays for his willingness to do such an interview; I know he is quite well-respected by many bloggers.

If there is a particular question you would like me to ask him, do post it here in the comments section.  I can’t guarantee your question will be asked, but I am curious as to what others may be thinking and may draw from this pool if there are some goodies. 

Look for this interview in the coming weeks!

[N.B. – I will be emailing the questions off to Dr. Hays on Friday, October 23 . . . so that is your deadline for submitting questions you want me to consider].

Richard Hays

Richard Hays and I

7 thoughts on “Big Announcement: Interview with Richard Hays (forthcoming)

  1. mike says:

    i’d personally like to know his thoughts on the current state of studies on intertextuality. has it stalled a bit? what sort of studies need to surface that will resuscitate it?

    • John Anderson says:

      No converting. As Paul might say, mh genoito!

      Actually up until the time I graduated from Duke I was talking with Dr. Hays about possibly doing my Ph.D. in NT. I have said elsewhere I am tremendously pleased with my choice of Hebrew Bible, but I do have a great love for the NT, especially the gospels.

      That, and I have a connection with Hays, so I thought it would be good to have a special “NT edition” of my interviews!

  2. Doug Chaplin says:

    Richard Burridge in his Imitating Jesus criticises hays “too easy dismissal of love as a key element for NT ethics” (p359). I’d love to hear him respond to that, and to Burridge’s critique more generally.

  3. Rob Reid says:

    I’d like to know what he thinks the future of intertextuality looks like research wise. Furthermore, I would like to know whether he things intertextuality might well be better used as an analytic tool along with others (e.g. imperial-critical, postcolonial, etc.) in an eclectic hermeneutical methodology or whether it is best executed in its own right?

Leave a Reply

