Happy Birthday to Me!

Today, October 19, 2009 marks my 28th birthday.  Yes, I’m still a young pup!  That’s a whole career’s worth of cutting-edge scholarship at your disposal!!

I am blessed to have my parents visiting Waco to celebrate with my amazing wife and wonderful son!  On the docket today is, well, very little until my wife gets off work.  Then it’s going out to eat supper, gifts, and a Reeses Peanut Butter Cup ice cream cake from Baskin Robbins.  Yummy!  And after that is a bottle of TUMS to wash it all down!  Life is good!

19 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me!

    • John Anderson says:

      Thanks, Jason! In terms of Ph.D. folk . . . well, Baylor Ph.D. folk at least . . . I am quite young. Most of the students are in their 30s. Now that I think about it, I think there may only be one or two people younger than me (and not by much more than a month!).

      Don’t feel old; I’ve also been in school non-stop since kindergarden. No breaks. That explains why I still kinda have that “new car” smell.

    • John Anderson says:

      Jason:

      No, I can call you “sir.” I always address old people that way!

      Actually, if we were in Germany, YOU could address me as “Sie” and I would address you as “du.” Ok, I jest.

  1. Roy "Eli" Garton says:

    Happy Birthday, John! Just one more year, man, and you can join the rest of us! After that, who’s counting! 🙂

  2. Jason says:

    John: Gee, thanks, ya whippersnapper! 🙂 I’m only a few years older, so I don’t feel too bad! Hope you have a good birthday and may you be showered with books! Ok, maybe that would be a little painful!

  3. goullet says:

    Hi John!

    We hope you have a great birthday! Thanks for choosing a Baskin-Robbins ice cream cake for your special day.

    Best,
    Your friends at Baskin-Robbins

    • John Anderson says:

      Now THAT is funny! I seriously wonder how in the world BR found me on here! Not like I gave them my blog address when ordering the cake. I am very curious as to how that worked out?!

      Truth be told, I am a bit sad with BR today. I ordered my cake on Friday–Reeses Peanut Butter Cup ice cream–and I have been stoked about it all weekend. Today they call me and tell me they are out of the ice cream. I opted for Chocolate Peanut Butter as a replacement . . . hardly the same, but still has peanut butter involved, so it can’t be all that bad. We shall see . . .

  4. Jason says:

    John: Don’t be modest now! You probably had business cards made to advertise your blog! That’s how you get 20,000 hits in a few months!!! 😉 Sorry to hear that about the cake. I mean, you waited a whole year and for what?!? Just messing with you–hope your birthday was swell!

Leave a Reply

