Blogging SBL: Better Late Than Never Edition

I am back from SBL.  It was, as always, a good time.  Plenty busy!  And now that I am back and can process a bit, I will do a series of posts on various aspects of the conference and my time there.  There was much going on . . . and much good humor.  Here are a few of the things I have planned . . . .

-Summation of each day’s activities for me
-The books I purchased
-Thoughts and impressions on delivering my paper
-A funny anecdote about how a buddy of mine and I helped get Norman Gottwald to his session, albeit late

AND . . . . the big one (ok, I’m being really sarcastic by calling this a big one . . . wink).  An all-access, expose on Jim West.  Seriously, who is this guy in reality?  Hardly the guy we see behind the computer.  He wouldn’t even call me a “git” or “dilletante” to my face when I challenged him to do so.  C’mon Jim, don’t disappoint!! 

I would also like to share a story about my time back home thus far.  I arrived at the house last night about 10:30 or 11:00, so my two-year old son was already asleep.  I went in and kissed him and told him I love him; this was the longest I’ve ever been away from him.  This morning he was quite surprised to see me.  Well, because I am swamped with work, I suggested he go to daycare today, and he won’t have daycare the rest of the week.  So we got him all ready, strapped in the carseat in the car and ready to pull out of the driveway when he says “I don’t want to go to school, I want to stay with daddy.”  I asked him again . . . daddy or school.  He said daddy.  So I unbuckled him and we’re having a guys’ day.  Seriously, who can say no to that?

7 thoughts on “Blogging SBL: Better Late Than Never Edition

  1. Rob Kashow says:

    Hi John. I forgot to mention to you that at the Yale reception I ran into the woman from Gonzaga you interviewed with. Hopefully my comments to her about you will add to an already likely consideration of you for the position.

  2. John Anderson says:

    Charles: I concur entirely! It’s been a great day with him so far!

    Rob: I’m curious. Elaborate (via email, please).

    Jim: Let the facade begin! At the blogging dinner I very clearly asked you, nay, told you, to call me a git. Nothing. Just a friendly smile as you went by. But I’m glad to see you now have the power of the keyboard again!! It was good to meet you, buddy.

  3. John Anderson says:

    Jim,
    I don’t know about that. You smiled nervously and moved on. I just found it very interesting to see the near utter discontinuity between your internet persona and you on real life. Interesting is all. Again, it was good to meet you.

Leave a Reply

