My New Toy: DROID

About a month ago I posted HERE that I had been allowed, by my wife and parents (both of whom are footing the bill for this) to purchase my Christmas gift early: an iPod Touch. 

I very much enjoyed the touch, and it made me want an iPhone desperately.  A few glitches, though: 1) We are loyal Verizon customers, unwilling to switch to AT&T . . . Verizon has always gone above and beyond for us; 2) I deeply lamented the fact that the Touch did not have internet access at all times, but only when I could find an open connection, which was rarely, or when at a ‘hot spot’; 3) Price . . . it was a hunk of change for no phone, camera, and unlimited internet capabilities.  I was, however, still very happy with it, and was on it every day and night religiously.

Then, my wife received a text message from Verizon saying we qualified for an early upgrade.  Curious, I called and asked precisely what the discount would be.  Long story short, I returned the iPod touch to Best Buy earlier this week, went to my local Verizon store and got . . . the new DROID.  It’s only been out about a month, but this thing is incredible.  I love having email anywhere.  And internet anywhere.  There are some great apps, and I trust many more to come.  My favorites are the barcode scanners so far, which use the camera to either take a picture of a book cover or scan the barcode and then find it online.  I know these aren’t anything new to iPhone users, but to a loyal Verizon customer, this is pretty sweet.  Loving the DROID.

9 thoughts on “My New Toy: DROID

  1. Jason says:

    Good for you! I, too, desperately seek to count myself among the iPhone nation. But, alas, I am not due an upgrade for quite a while and there is NO WAY I am paying for an iPhone without an upgrade discount! Enjoy your phone!

  2. John Anderson says:

    Matt: No idea, I’m still a young pup. I’ve never seen that movie (though I know the theme song quite well; it was Ric Flair’s entrance music).

    Jim: It not only looks sweet, it acts even sweeter. Verizon has always been good to us, and they have the best nationwide coverage in my view. We never have any problems when traveling Texas or, more importantly, home to SD.

    Jason: I am glad not to be among the iPhone nation but the DROID nation. Join me.

  3. Jason says:

    John: I would consider it, but I’m in the same boat as Jim–I’m an AT&T customer. Only, it’s not the only choice around here. We’ve been loyal to AT&T for nearly 9 years now, so I can’t imagine abandoning them. Plus, I really want an iPhone. My mom’s got one for Pete’s sake!

  4. Roy "Eli" Garton says:

    Matt: The computer was called “HAL,” if memory serves me correctly.

    John: congrats man! Next time we travel together, we’ll have to try your navigation app compared to Blackberry’s. 🙂

  5. David Melvin says:

    John: I’m seriously thinking about getting a DROID. I really want(ed) an iPhone, but like you, I am with Verizon and there is no way I will switch to AT&T. I’ve read that Verizon may possibly carry the iPhone eventually, but I’m not sure I want to wait indefinitely for something that may or may not happen. The biggest thing that makes me hesitant is the fact that I love the iPod/iTunes, and having a phone that is integrated with iTunes would be really nice.

  6. Aaron Rathburn says:

    John, I got an Android this month, too!

    I got the HTC Hero on Sprint. It’s the “Droid Eris” on Verizon. The thing is absolutely amazing.

    What apps have you checked out thus far? I can recommend some pretty amazing ones.

Leave a Reply

