Where Am I?

Never fear, friends, I am fine.  Just insanely busy, and blogging has not been high on my list of priorities.  I do, however, plan to resume a more regular schedule in the coming months. 

So what have I been up to?  Simple answer . . . Dissertation writing.  I am on schedule to defend this Spring, so I am writing assiduously with that goal in mind.  This takes up the bulk of my time.  8-5 M-F, and then evenings are reserved for time with my wife and son, and then time to relax after my son goes to bed. 

Additionally, this past weekend was Baylor’s preview weekend for prospective Ph.D. candidates, and I was in charge of organizing and arranging the schedule and activities.  Needless to say I am glad it is over, but I very much enjoyed doing it, and even more so meeting the prospectives who are interested in Baylor.  I have received several very kind notes from some of the prospectives over the last few days, so that is encouraging. 

That may not sound like much, but I have poured myself in to this dissertation, and again, I am on target to finish and defend this Spring.  I actually plan to be done writing the whole thing by early April.  I’m well over 3/4 of the way done, so by April I should be able to have things in final form, and defend shortly thereafter.

Now . . . about a job?!

Hope you all are well!

5 thoughts on “Where Am I?

  1. Matt says:

    Good to see you’re alive (and that your priorities are in order). Let us bloggers know if there’s anything we can do to help with your dissertation.

    I’m hoping to get the money together to go to the regional SBL up the road from me next month. If I do, I’ll be sure to sit in on your paper.

  2. John Anderson says:

    Matt: Thanks! I’m not really that concerned about finishing the dissertation on time–that shouldn’t be a problem at all–and more interested in getting a job for the Fall. I have some prospects, so I am hopeful. Say a prayer it works out.

    Brooke: Thanks! Not only are things moving, but they are moving positively. Chapters 1 and 2 are in ‘final form,’ and chapter 3 will be in the next few days. Chapter 4 will be completed by early March because I am presenting part of it at the regional SBL meeting. I’ve been so pleased to see the project has been met at various stages–publication, presentations, and now the big shabang, the dissertation–in such a positive, encouraging way.

  3. Phil Sumpter says:

    I know I barely comment on this blog – like you have to to discipline myself to prioritize my diss. But this is actually one of my favourites, so I do hope you pick things up again. I’m trying to get my feet back into the blogosphere after a major break.

Leave a Reply

