My Dissertation Defense Date: THIS FRIDAY!

This Friday, May 21, at 11 a.m. I will begin defense of my dissertation, the last step in completing the Ph.D.  I have talked to various folk who have defended prior to me, and there does not seem to be a strong sense of consistency regarding duration of the defense or how the advisor opts to handle the session.  In all honesty I’m not really worried at all that I’m not going to pass; I’m more so just ready to get at it.  I will be certain to make a post–hopefully for the first time officially as Dr. Anderson!–on Friday after the defense.  Your thoughts, prayers, and encouragement are appreciated!

3 thoughts on “My Dissertation Defense Date: THIS FRIDAY!

  1. anummabrooke says:

    Practice these phrases before a mirror:

    “I don’t know.”

    “Let me think on that for a minute” (silence)

    “Could you rephrase the question?” (allow impatient inquisitor to simply tell you what she wanted you to say in the first place)

    “That’s a good point. How would you address that in a revision for publication?” (Not, of course, in a post-defense revision of the diss!)

    Have fun!

    Brooke

Leave a Reply

