Dissertation: Defended . . . SUCCESSFULLY!

There’s a new doctor in town! I defended my dissertation today between 11 am and 1 pm. It was filled with thoughtful and vibrant conversation. And the best (well, second best to officially being Dr. Anderson!) is that I barely have any revisions . . . only about 10 minutes worth of changing a word or remedying typos. Dr. Bellinger, the director of the dissertation, said that is very unusual and that all five examiners agreed it was a very fine piece of work. Now the task turns to publication!

It is quite surreal to be at this stage. What was most surreal was hearing Dr. Anderson for the first time. The committee asked me to leave and discussed the defense for about 3-5 mins amongst themselves, which of course is the most stressful part knowing they are talking ABOUT you. Dr. Bellinger then peeked out, invited me in, extended his hand and said, “Congratulations Dr. Anderson.” Amazing!

26 thoughts on “Dissertation: Defended . . . SUCCESSFULLY!

  1. anummabrooke says:

    “Doctor, it hurts when I go like this…”

    “Doctor, will I be able to play the violin after my operation?”

    “Doctor, my brother thinks he’s a chicken…”

    Okay, I’m done. Congratulations!

  2. John Anderson says:

    Thanks, friends!

    Brooke, interesting, that all of those questions were asked during my defense. I think I somehow went to the wrong room?! But it must say something about my mental acumen that I still passed (wink)!

Leave a Reply

