Article Accepted for Publication in ZAW!

I just received word that my article, “Awaiting an Answered Prayer: The Development and Reinterpretation of Habakkuk 3 in its Contexts” has been accepted for publication in the seminal Hebrew Bible journal Zeitschrift fur die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft (ZAW).  The article will be forthcoming, likely in the first issue of 2011. 

My basic argument in this article is that the text of Hab 3 has undergone a long and fascinating development leading to the final form of the text.  I isolate three specific redactional stages, each which adds elements that help aclimate the text to its specific context at that time.  It is a redactional and historical piece to be sure.

Now, some of you may be wondering, “Anderson doing historical-critical work?”  Yes, I can, and I did!  I wrote this paper in a course for Jim Nogalski a year or two ago, and I consider it a strong piece of work that contributes to the conversation on Habakkuk 3.  As most of you know, it is not my typical methodological mode of operation, but I am glad to show I’m not a ‘one trick pony’ (ha!).

5 thoughts on “Article Accepted for Publication in ZAW!

Leave a Reply

