Big Update on My Status for the Fall

Some of you already know this, but I am glad to share the news with everyone.  I have accepted a one year adjunct position at my undergraduate institution, Augustana College in Sioux Falls, SD.  I will still be on the job hunt, however, so be very afraid (ha!).  The offer very much came out of the blue, and this has very much become a leap of faith for my family and I.  We appreciate your prayers that our house sells quickly and that we are blessed both professionally and financially.  We need it!

At Augie, I will be teaching a course entitled Exploring the Christian Faith.  I am still constructing the syllabus for the course, but am thankful for the amount of leeway offered for how one images and constructs the course.  I am framing the course around the question “who is God?”, a seemingly innocuous enough question until one actually reads the biblical text.  As such, we will be reading a number of volumes, and biblical texts, that will present different ways of handling God, and by connection then addressing the important questions of who are we and how do we read this thing called the Bible. 

Here are the books I have selected for the course:

*Elie Wiesel, Night (I plan to start the course with this book to get questions swirling)
*Terry Fretheim, The Suffering of God
*Eric Seibert, Disturbing Divine Behavior
*Walter Brueggemann, Divine Presence Amid Violence
*Justo Gonzalez, Church History: An Essential Guide
*Joel Green, Reclaiming the Scandal of the Cross
*N.T. Wright, Simply Christian

It will be a fun semester, and I am looking forward to being home.  Quite fascinating . . . it will be exactly ten years ago to the semester that I took this course myself at Augustana.  By the man who is now my dear friend and chair of the department there, Murray Haar.  I can’t wait!

6 thoughts on “Big Update on My Status for the Fall

  1. Jason says:

    Is this for a lower or upper level class? That’s quite a reading load, unless you will only assign selected readings. Congrats on the position–I am sure you will do well and your students will learn a lot.

  2. Jill says:

    Congratulations john. How many sections are you teaching per semester? I have heard that looking for a job in academics is a full time job itself.

    Jill

  3. John Anderson says:

    Thanks, friends. This is the religion intro everyone has to take, but before you maul me (Jason!) for the amount of books, consider this: three of them (Brueggemann, Gonzalez, and Wiesel) are under or right at 100 pages. I don’t plan to have them read all of Fretheim, and the same goes for Green. But some of my colleagues in the department are using 7 books, so I’m not in the minority. When I took this class ten years ago I had about this many books to read; this is college after all! But at the same time, in terms of total page numbers I really don’t think it’s that bad.

Leave a Reply

