Fifteen Shuffled Songs Meme

Because I haven’t posted in a while, and because I’m saving all my mental powers (yes, you read that right, I have mental powers) for SBL in a few days, I thought I’d give the fifteen shuffled songs meme a shot.  I came across this on Jason’s blog, though it was apparently started by Doug Chaplin.  I fully expect to be embarrassed and mocked for what comes up, but why not?  (N.B. – I am here submitting two lists, one from my phone–which is what I listen to most often–and the other from my computer, which I seldom listen to).

Here are the rules:

1) Turn on your MP3 player or music player on your computer.
2) Go to SHUFFLE songs mode.
3) Write down the first 15 songs that come up–song title and artist–NO editing/cheating, please.

And here’s what came up for me.

List from my phone:

1. Natasha Beddingfield – Pocketful of Sunshine
2. Rascal Flatts – This Everyday Love
3. David Cook – I Did it for You
4. Rent (movie version) cast – Seasons of Love
5. Colbie Caillat – Falling For You
6. Keith Urban – Kiss a Girl
7. Tom Jones – It’s Not Unusual
8. Billy Ray Cyrus – In the Heart of a Woman
9. Michael Jackson – The Way You Make Me Feel
10. Daughtry – It’s Not Over
11. Kenny Loggins – Footloose
12. Wrestling theme – nWo (New World Order)
13. Cascada – Evacuate the Dance Floor
14. Spacehog – In the Meantime
15. Rob Thomas – Her Diamonds

And just because it made me laugh (and I love the song), #16 is . . .

Hanson – Where’s the Love

List from my computer:

1. Ozzy Osbourne – See You on the Other Side
2. Reba McEntire – Fancy
3. Backstret Boys – It’s Gotta Be You
4. Leann Rimes – But I Do Love You (from Coyote Ugly soundtrack)
5. Neal McCoy – The Shake
6. Billy Joel – River of Dreams
7. Crazy Town – Butterfly
8. Wrestling theme song – Hulk Hogan (Real American)
9. Billy Joel – This is the Time
10. Chris Tomlin – Unchanging
11. Christina Aguilera – What a Girl Wants
12. Billy Joel – Ballad of Billy the Kid
13. Black Eyed Peas – Boom Boom Pow
14. Montgomery Gentry – Lonely and Gone
15. Nitty Gritty Dirt Band – Fishin’ in the Dark

3 thoughts on “Fifteen Shuffled Songs Meme

  1. Doug Chaplin says:

    I got it from someone else – the most I can claim credit for is giving it a boost. Possibly because I was quite proud of my first fifteen out of the random gate.

    Thanks for yours, but, really how different our tastes would seem to be!

  2. John Anderson says:

    @Jason: There is NOTHING wrong with some good Billy Ray! I actually used to own every CD he put out (I have since sold all my cd’s after putting them on my computer, but I did earn them all). And the Backstreet Boys, I must confess, I bought one of their CDs, but only because my current wife (then girlfriend) refused to go to the cash register and buy it for me. I have to admit, I’m a sap for music like that every now and then.

    @Doug: This list is a good indicator of the oddity and eclectic nature of my musical interests. Much of it is nostalgia (Billy Ray Cyrus, etc.). There are very few ARTISTS that I am entirely devoted to, though I can easily name the top two: Billy Joel and Rascal Flatts. Billy Joel tops the list for me; he’s incredible. And Rascal Flatts has a lot of music I really like. Montgomery Genty has also started to take a prominent place on this list. I am, admittedly, a big country music fan. But, along with this, I also really really really like me some Kid Rock. How’s that for eclectic?

Leave a Reply

