Update on my teaching status for the Spring semester

Many of you know I am currently adjuncting at my undergraduate institution, Augustana College in Sioux Falls, SD. Teaching there has been one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve had. I will be teaching there again in the Spring semester.

I will also, however, be adjuncting at Dakota Wesleyan University in my hometown of Mitchell, SD. The course I am teaching is entitled Understanding the Old Testament; it is a freshman/sophomore introduction to the Hebrew Bible/Old Testament. I am tremendously excited to be teaching an Old Testament intro at last! It was a joy trying to figure out what books to use.  Here is what I arrived at (all are required for the course):

New Oxford Annotated Bible, with Apocrypha (4th edition)

 

Terence E. Fretheim, The Pentateuch (Interpreting Bible Texts)

 

Richard J. Clifford, The Wisdom Literature (Interpreting Bible Texts)

 

Jack Lundbom, The Hebrew Prophets: An Introduction

 

Eric A. Seibert, Disturbing Divine Behavior: Troubling Old Testament Images of God

 

Elie Wiesel, Night

7 thoughts on “Update on my teaching status for the Spring semester

  1. John Anderson says:

    @Jason: Truth be told, I think Wiesel’s ‘Night’ should be required reading for the entire human race. I most certainly think anyone who is going to study the Bible (or even religion more broadly) must read it. The book seriously changed my perspective on a great many things; it has been transformative for me. And it is a joy seeing that same experience for my students from the other side of the podium! Read it, and let me know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

