Books I Will Be Reading this Year (Part Deux)

(Ok, not everyone may get the Hot Shots movie reference in the title; such is life).
Back in December I POSTED a list of books I plan to read in 2011. Well, a fourth of the way into the year and I thought I’d check up on how well I’ve done on that front. All in all, not too bad. Here are some stats for the year thus far:
Books I’ve Read (in their entirety) This Year
Carolyn Sharp, Wrestling the Word: The Hebrew Scriptures and the Christian Believer
A very fine book that addresses very well, and in a readable format (though undergrads may get lost in the vocabulary at times), the diversity of ways one can read the Old Testament. Written with cleverness and critique, though the second part of the subtitle–“and the Christian Believer”–seems to be a less prominent motif in the book. It reads, to me, more like an enjoyable survey and analysis of various methods (no easy task to make that interesting!), and less a way to relate the HB to the Christian faith.
Terence Fretheim, The Pentateuch
Vintage Fretheim, tackling the issue of the Pentateuch in a readable, introductory way. And while some of my students did not like the book so much, I still think it presents one of the most readable–and thought-provoking–on the topic for undergrads.
Paul Copan, Is God a Moral Monster: Making Sense of the Old Testament God
I posted HERE about my utter disappointment with this book. I am glad to have read it, though, given that I have about two potential book projects in my head, one of which is to address this idea of Old Testament ethics that seems so hot right now. Copan’s is one attempt to address the difficulty . . . terribly inadequately, in my view.
Jack Lundbom, The Hebrew Prophets: An Introduction
I have mixed feelings about this book. It does a very very very fine job of discussing the hallmarks of what makes a prophet, but his treatments of the actual prophets are quite unsatisfactory to me. This isn’t to Lundbom doesn’t know his stuff–he surely does! But the majority of the treatments of each individual prophet did little more than say “Ezekiel does X in chapter X.”
Books I am Currently Reading
Terence Fretheim, God and World in the Old Testament: A Relational Theology of Creation
Joel Lohr, Chosen and Unchosen: Conceptions of Election in the Pentateuch and Jewish-Christian Interpretation
Eryl Davies, The Immoral Bible: Approaches to Biblical Ethics
Joel Burnett, Where is God? Divine Absence in the Hebrew Bible
Ron Hendel (ed.), Reading Genesis: Ten Methods
Books I still plan to read this year . . .
Mark Boda, A Severe Mercy: Sin and its Remedy in the Old Testament
Brevard Childs, Biblical Theology of the Old and New Testaments
Carolyn Sharp (ed.), Disruptive Grace: Reflections on God, Scripture, and the Church, by Walter Brueggemann
David Lamb, God Behaving Badly
Jerome Creach, The Destiny of the Righteous in the Psalms
John Goldingay’s 3-volume Old Testament Theology
Mark Smith, The Priestly Vision of Genesis One
William Brown, The Seven Pillars of Creation
Anathea Portier-Young, Apocalypse Against Empire: Theologies of Resistance in Early Judaism

What do you think of my reading list? And how are your ‘reading resolutions’ going so far this year?

Leave a Reply

