Before . . . and After!

Throughout my life, weight has always been a struggle for me. If only carrots tasted like chocolate, or better yet, broccoli like peanut butter (mmmmm, peanut butter). I’ve never been a contender for competition on the Biggest Loser, but it has caused enough potential issues that I decided back at the tail end of November–the week before Thanksgiving, actually–to do something about it. And so, in the last five months, I have lost 53 lbs! Here’s the ever-so-glamorous ‘before and after’ shot (it appears even my fashion sense has changed!):

Aside from the physical changes in my body, there are several others. One that especially stands out is heartburn. I LIVED with heartburn and acid reflux for a long time; I would, in an average day, pop 10 Tums or more. Now, nothing. I haven’t touched or even thought about needing a Tums or anything for  heartburn in the last 5 months. And it isn’t simply an adjustment in diet; I still LOVE spicy food, and will pour buffalo sauce on just about anything. But even then, no Tums needed. Oh, and according to my wife, my snoring has improved dramatically (inasmuch as you can get ‘better’ at snoring, which I suppose means I do it less frequently and less noisily).

I still have roughly another 15 lbs to lose before I am considered, by BMI standards, to be at a healthy weight for my age and height. But dang, I’m almost there!

9 thoughts on “Before . . . and After!

  1. Jason says:

    Good for you, John! Because of my height my weight kind of evens out. My problem is eating–I love to eat! Growing up in Louisiana with the best food in the world only fostered my desires! It’s tough to be disciplined in dieting and exercise, but whatever you’re doing is working–keep it up!

    • John Anderson says:

      Jason, I once had that gift of my height allowing my weight to even out. No more, though. And I don’t think of it as a diet but as a lifestyle. This is how I plan to live the rest of my life. So far, so good, and I’m not depriving myself in any way.

Leave a Reply

