Mission Accomplished (or, how I lost 71 lbs–so far!–in 7 months)

Some of you may be aware that I’ve been on a weight loss journey recently. I am delighted to report that I have, as of this morning, officially hit my goal weight! That’s 71 lbs lost (so far, I’m aiming to lose about another 3 just to have some cushion) since the end of November. For the first time in I don’t know how long, I am considered officially, by BMI (body mass index) standards to be at a normal weight! Goodbye ‘obese’! See ya ‘overweight’! It feels incredible!

Here’s a more recent ‘before and after’ shot. Notice any difference?

6 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished (or, how I lost 71 lbs–so far!–in 7 months)

  1. Brian says:

    John, that’s a remarkable achievement. Congratulations!

    One of my neighbors dropped about 100 pounds over several months. i asked him how he did it, and he said, “Basically starvation.”

    What was you method? Any words of wisdom for the rest of us?

    • John Anderson says:

      Hey Brian, thanks for your kind words!

      One hint: starvation may be a way to lose it, but it is NEVER a way to maintain it.

      My method was simple. I joined Weight Watchers. They have an incredible program. But that was only really someone for me to be accountable to. Here are some bits of wisdom:

      1) Make the gym your friend, and when there push yourself. You’ll be amazed what you can actually do.

      2) Find ways to have the things you want. The moment you begin to deprive yourself it becomes a diet and is doomed to fail. If you treat it like a lifestyle then there is only success. So, for example, while I love a good cheeseburger, I love even more having two turkey burgers. Same takeaway. I’d much prefer the volume of two turkey burgers than having a single beef burger.

      3) Be innovative. Try different things that are healthy. You may be surprised what you find. Seek out healthy substitutes for foods you love (i.e., turkey burgers mentioned above, or thin crust pizza instead of deep dish, etc.).

      4) Keep track of/journal everything you eat. Count everything, be it calories, Weight Watchers points, or whatever. Keep track.

      Those are a few tips that have helped me be successful and do this so quickly.

  2. Rick Wadholm Jr. says:

    That’s wonderful John! I lost about 60 pounds 8 years ago (mostly due to stress), but only managed to keep at my downed size because my wife then made a conscientious choice about her own eating habits. This meant a change for me where (like you said) I eat what I want, but make choices that alter the quantities and/or the type of actual substance making up the food. I’ve also found ways to snack better and drink more water. Big difference also in how I feel compared to 60 lbs heavier.

    By the way (as an aside), is there ANY chance I can get the papers that will be presented at SBL for the Genesis meetings? I won’t be able to make it this year (since I already have a prior meeting that I’m required to be at). I know you are looking at having the papers published, but just wondered if there is any way to get them prior to publication since they would likely be beneficial to my own Thesis work. If not that’s alright. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

