Ron Hendel presenting at SBL 2011?!?! Did I Miss Something? (UPDATE!!)

Looking over the program book today and found this:

S20-248


What Is the Future of Biblical Studies in Academia? Questions, Challenges, Visions
11/20/2011
1:00 PM to 3:30 PM
Room:Room TBD – Hotel TBD

Tracy Lemos, Huron University College, Presiding
Matthew Neujahr, Yale University, Presiding
Carol Newsom, Emory University, Panelist (10 min)
Ronald Hendel, University of California-Berkeley, Panelist (10 min)
Dale Martin, Yale University, Panelist (10 min)
Jacques Berlinerblau, Georgetown University, Panelist (10 min)
Elizabeth Castelli, Barnard College, Panelist (10 min)
Bart Ehrman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Panelist (10 min)
Discussion (90 min)

After the kerfuffle last year between Hendel and SBL, I’m a bit surprised (but admittedly, pleasantly so; Hendel is writing the new Anchor Bible volumes on Genesis, and it would be a delight to meet him. I’ve always found his work on Genesis worthwhile).

Anyone have an answer? Did he renew his membership? (mea culpa if I missed something obvious).

UPDATE: He appears to be back, though I have not heard this from him. The test, however, is easy. Simply go to the SBL website, sign in, and search the member directory. I happened to just do exactly that, and indeed, Ronald Hendel is showing as a “full member.” And I am nearly certain that when I searched the same thing during the kerfuffle a bit ago a search for “Hendel” indeed brought no results. So, it seems he’s back. I’d be curious, though, to hear why. I’m glad to hear it, certainly, but just curious what has changed.

Reunited and it feels so good!!!

 

Actually, there is quite an easy check to this question. Go to the SBL website, log in, and check under member directory. I just happen to have done that just now, and note that Ron Hendel is showing at present as being a “Full Member.” And I am almost entirely certain that when this whole kerfuffle went on a bit ago I checked and a search in the same place for “Hendel” returned no results.

 

Looks like he’s back.

 

Reunited and it feels so good!!!

Actually, there is quite an easy check to this question. Go to the SBL website, log in, and check under member directory. I just happen to have done that just now, and note that Ron Hendel is showing at present as being a “Full Member.” And I am almost entirely certain that when this whole kerfuffle went on a bit ago I checked and a search in the same place for “Hendel” returned no results.

Looks like he’s back.

Posted in: SBL

4 thoughts on “Ron Hendel presenting at SBL 2011?!?! Did I Miss Something? (UPDATE!!)

  1. Matt N. says:

    As to Professor Hendel’s current views on the SBL and his relationship to the organization, I cannot speak with any knowledge. As to his appearance on the program, the basics are as follows.

    A group of youngish scholars in the field formed a group a year or two ago interested in, among other things, the kinds of issues raised by Hendel regarding our professional society. We thought it would be really good to bring discussion about the SBL to the SBL itself and (heaven forbid) have some open dialogue about the field, the profession, and the organization at the Annual Meeting. We approached a number of senior scholars and asked if they would be willing to participate in a “future of biblical studies in the academy” type panel. Professor Hendel was one of those who kindly accepted the invitation. We pitched it to SBL, and got on the program for 2011.

  2. John Anderson says:

    Hi Matt,

    Thanks for this. I agree: the annual meeting seems the appropriate place to have such a discussion, and I do think it is worth having. As I mention above, I do see that he has renewed his SBL membership (or is at least listed as a member), so despite his views–some of which I share and some I do not–I am delighted to see that he is not beyond participation. I am also glad to see that others are willing to have conversation with and engage some of the issues and questions he raised.

  3. Tracy L. says:

    Just to piggyback on Matt here…One needs to be a member of SBL to be listed in the program book, so it is possible that Ron became a member again to be on our panel. I am not sure, nor do I know whether or not his return is permanent. Come to our panel, and you can ask him!

Leave a Reply

